Related Links

The Computer Warehouse Group has awarded two First Class graduates of the Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Science, of the University with a laptop each and an automatic employment for their academic excellence.


The beneficiaries, Miss Sanni-Saba Olabisi Latifat and Miss Anokwu Ezinne were the best graduating students of the Department of Computer Science in the 2007/2008 and 2008/2009 academic sessions respectively.


The award ceremony took place recently in the Vice-Chancellorís Conference Room, Main Campus, Akoka.


The recipients would be on the employment of the group after the completion of the mandatory one year national youth service.


In his opening remarks, the Head of Marketing Communications of the group, Mr. Chidi Okpala, who represented the Group Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of the company, Mr. Austin Okere, said that the group was willing to support the University at all times.


In response, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Adetokunbo Babatunde Sofoluwe thanked Mr. Okere who is an alumnus of the University for giving back to his alma mater. He urged Mr. Okere to do more for the University by way of inaugurating an Annual Lecture to be named after Mr. Okere.


The Vice-Chancellor also urged the group to build a structure on campus to be named after the group, where software development and hardware training would be carried out simultaneously. In addition, the Vice-Chancellor asked the group to expand the Internet bandwidth of the University and establish hotspots in strategic locations on campus to easy the traffic for surfers of the net.   


The Head, Department of Computer Science, Professor J.O.A. Ayeni used the occasion to encourage greater interaction between the group and the University, while the Dean, Student Affairs, Professor H.O.D Longe commended the donor for rewarding scholarship. He noted that incentive based system would always encourage scholarship.


Management and Senior staff of the University present at the occasion included the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Management Service), Professor R. A. Bello; the Registrar, Oluwarotimi O. A. Shodimu Esq; the Bursar, Mr. Gilbert Deinde Ifarajimi, JP; the Acting Librarian, Dr. Okanlawon Adediji; HOD, Computer Science, Professor J.O.A. Ayeni; Dean, Student Affairs, Professor H.O.D. Longe and Director, Office of Advancement, Mrs. B. A. Awere.


On the side of the group were the Head, Marketing Communications, Mr. Chidi Okpala; Head, Human Resource, Mrs. Ayo Fischer; Assistant General Manager, Mr. Emmanuel Eneh and the Corporate Affairs/Marketing Communications Executive, Miss Success Nmerife.

Posted on 07, May 2010
About Us
Principal Officers
Welcome Address
Our Vision and Mission
Our History
Student Affairs
Centre For Housing Studies
Unilag Sports
Professional Bodies
Academic Planning Unit
Staff Training Centre
Staff School
Community Pharmacy
Central Industrial Liaison and Placement Unit
Security Unit
Unilag International School
College of Medicine
School of Post Graduate Studies
Distance Learning Institute
Academic Programme
Academic Calendar
Latest News
Archived News
Unilag Magazine
Register for the Research Conference
View Publications
Search Publications
Contact Us
Contact Details