About Us - Faculties of SOCIAL SCIENCES »» Department PSYCHOLOGY
Head of Department : Professor I. S. Agiobu-Kemmer
Description :  


The University of Lagos was established by an act of parliament in 1962. In the month of October of the same year, the college of Medicine was started as was the School of Business and Social Studies. The third component of the University was the Faculty of Law. Two years after, the school of Biological Sciences came into existence and so the well known science subjects like physics, chemistry, botany, zoology began to be taught at the University.

Interestingly in 1967, a little known subject called psychology also came into being in the school, but it was not based in a full-fledge, degree-awarding department like the other disciplines. Instead, it was housed in a unit. In that unit were three staff comprising; Mr. E.T. Abiola, a University of Liverpool trained clinical psychologist who was believed to have pioneered the establishment of the unit. He was probably the firat African psychologist to have studied the intellectual developmentof the Nigerian child way backin 1957, Dr. Franklin, an African-American, with a Ph.D. from Oregon and mr. Paul I. Unongo, who had a masters degree from the University of Alberta in Canada. The Plateau-born Nigerian Psychologist would later achieve prominence  in business and politics. These three founding fathers conducted research in psychology and also taught psychology courses to science students in their part I as it was then called. The equivalent of this in the current nomenclature is 200 level. One still remembers with nostalgia the tenacity, rigour and thoroughness with which Abiola engaged students in 'Experimental Psychology'.

Programme Type(s) :
Principal Officers
Welcome Address
Our Vision and Mission
Our History
Student Affairs
Life on Campus